We Do Who We Are

Beginning in 1981, the Friends of A. Philip Randolph Square came together as an unincorporated association of volunteers focused almost exclusively on upkeep of the square. In keeping with changes in our neighborhood, the Friends’ work expanded to include capital planning, community revitalization, and historic preservation. In 2008, growth and diversification led to the Friends incorporated as the A. Philip Randolph Square Neighborhood Alliance (the Alliance). Through its community development advocacy, the Alliance has initiated stewardship groups at five additional green spaces along St. Nicholas Avenue. We support civic activism that preserves neighborhood character and context to ensure that these six green spaces remain sustainable assets for Harlem’s global community and the City of New York.

Cleveland Manley
Laconia Smedley
Ivy Walker
Gloria Wright, chairwoman

Key to the Square Honorees
Honorable Gale Brewer, 2021

Tahj Kenneth Tristen Berrien, Lynn Lieberman, Shatic Mitchell, Shanti Nagel, Valon Nicki, Charles Powell, Ayesha Robinson, Willie Walker, Linda Wood-Guy

William Allen, Deaneane Brown-Blackmon, June Bridges, Eleanor Britt, Yolanda Brooks, Edward Drossman, Jeanette Fuller, Donna Veronica Gill, Pharein Griffin, Elaine Livingston, Michelle Jackson, Denisha Johnson, Paul McIntosh, Marita Green Monroe, Brenda Searcy, Anthony Shaw, Charline Shaw, Nicole Smith, Yvonne Stafford, Keisha Sutton-James, Kim Watkins

Project Directors
Vernon Ballard
Shamier Settle

Board of Directors
Gregory Christopher Baggett
Christopher Warren Michael, Esq.
Evette Porter

Gregory Christopher Baggett